The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 16, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : Popular Adult Nonfiction

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

Popular Nonfiction books for adults

 

Hundreds of books are added to the Library's collection each month. Here are the most popular Nonfiction Books for adults.

 

RSS feed for this list
The Dangerous Case of Donald Trump: 27 Psychiatrists and Mental Health Experts Assess A President

The Dangerous Case of Donald Trump: 27 Psychiatrists and Mental Health Experts Assess A President

Explores the consensus of more than two dozen psychiatrists and psychologists that President Donald Trump is dangerously mentally ill and that he presents a clear and present danger to the nation. --Publisher


Format: Book
Holds: 146 on 28 copies

View this item

 
Glass Houses

Glass Houses
Penny, Louise

"When a mysterious figure appears in Three Pines one cold November day, Armand Gamache and the rest of the villagers are at first curious. Then wary. Through rain and sleet, the figure stands unmoving, staring ahead. From the moment its shadow falls over the village, Gamache, now Chief Superintendent of the Sûreté du Québec, suspects the creature has deep roots and a dark purpose. Yet he does nothing. What can he do? Only watch and wait. And hope his mounting fears are not realized. But when the figure vanishes overnight and a body is discovered, it falls to Gamache to discover if a debt has been paid or levied. Months later, on a steamy July day as the trial for the accused begins in Montréal, Chief Superintendent Gamache continues to struggle with actions he set in motion that bitter November, from which there is no going back. More than the accused is on trial. Gamache's own conscience is standing in judgment" -- provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 145 on 198 copies

View this item

 
Nomadland: Surviving America in the Twenty-first Century

Nomadland: Surviving America in the Twenty-first Century
Bruder, Jessica

Employers have discovered a new, low-cost labor pool, made up largely of transient older Americans. Finding that social security comes up short, often underwater on mortgages, these invisible casualties of the Great Recession have taken to the road by the tens of thousands in late-model RVs, travel trailers, and vans, forming a growing community of nomads: migrant laborers who call themselves "workampers." Bruder hits the road to get to know her subjects, accompanying them from job to job in the dark underbelly of the American economy, while celebrating their resilience and creativity.


Format: Book
Holds: 143 on 26 copies

View this item

 
Reckless Daughter: A Portrait of Joni Mitchell

Reckless Daughter: A Portrait of Joni Mitchell
Yaffe, David, 1973-

Reckless Daughter tells the story of Mitchell and also of the fertile, exciting musical time of which she was an integral part, one that had a profound effect that can still be felt today on American music and the industry.


Format: Book
Holds: 142 on 28 copies

View this item

 
Chief Seattle and the Town That Took His Name: The Change of Worlds for the Native People and Settlers on Puget Sound

Chief Seattle and the Town That Took His Name: The Change of Worlds for the Native People and Settlers on Puget Sound
Buerge, David M.


Format: Book
Holds: 138 on 262 copies

View this item

 
Unbelievable: My Front-row Seat to the Craziest Campaign in American History

Unbelievable: My Front-row Seat to the Craziest Campaign in American History
Tur, Katy, 1983-

The NBC news correspondent assigned to cover the Trump campaign for the 2016 presidential election shares her perspective on witnessing Trump's unexpected campaign successes.


Format: Book
Holds: 136 on 48 copies

View this item

 
Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness
Thaler, Richard H., 1945-

"Nudge is about choices--how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make--ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources--and show us how sensible "choice architecture" can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertaining--a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being."--Publisher's description


Format: Book
Holds: 135 on 31 copies

View this item

 
World Without Mind: The Existential Threat of Big Tech

World Without Mind: The Existential Threat of Big Tech
Foer, Franklin


Format: Book
Holds: 132 on 28 copies

View this item

 
The Last Black Unicorn

The Last Black Unicorn
Haddish, Tiffany, 1979-

"From stand-up comedian and actress Tiffany Haddish comes The Last Black Unicorn, a hilarious, edgy, and heart-wrenching collection of autobiographical essays that will leave you laughing through tears. Tiffany Haddish grew up in one of the poorest parts of South Central Los Angeles. Her mother wound up with a debilitating brain injury after surviving a car accident. Tiffany never fit in anywhere: not in the households she rotated through in the foster care system, and certainly not the nearly all white high school she had to ride the bus an hour to attend. As an illiterate ninth grader, Tiffany did everything she could to survive. After a multitude of jobs, she finally realized that she had talent in an area she never would have suspected: comedy. Tiffany faced the 'routine' hindrances of climbing the entertainment business ladder--but had the added obstacles of sex, race, and class in her way. But she got there. She's humble, grateful, down to earth, and funny as hell. She still cleans the toilet the way she was shown by a foster mom who worked as a maid, and she still rolls her joints the way one of her foster dads taught her. Tiffany can't avoid being funny: it's just who she is. But The Last Black Unicorn is so much more than a side-splittingly hilarious collection of essays--it's a memoir of the struggles of one woman who came from nothing and nowhere. A woman who was able to achieve her dreams by reveling in her pain and awkwardness, showing the world who she really is, and inspiring others through the power of laughter"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 130 on 8 copies

View this item

 
Six Seasons: A New Way With Vegetables

Six Seasons: A New Way With Vegetables
McFadden, Joshua

"In 225 simple, inventive recipes that celebrate all the ways to use all the parts of a vegetable at its peak, McFadden shares his passion and expertise as both chef and farmer"--Page 4 of overleaf.


Format: Book
Holds: 128 on 28 copies

View this item

 



[ 1 - 10 ] [ 11 - 20 ] [ 21 - 30 ] [ 31 - 40 ] [ 41 - 50 ] [ 51 - 60 ] [ 61 - 70 ] [ 71 - 80 ]

RSS feed for this list