The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 16, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : New Adult Mysteries

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

New Mystery Books for Adults

 

Hundreds of books are added to the Library's collection each month. Here are the most recent Mystery books for adults.

 

RSS feed for this list
Maigret's First Case

Maigret's First Case
Simenon, Georges, 1903-1989

When a Paris musician witnesses an altercation that may have been a murder, the young Maigret becomes embroiled in his first case.


Format: Book
Holds: 1 on 8 copies

View this item

 
My Name Is Nathan Lucius

My Name Is Nathan Lucius
Winkler, Mark

"Nathan Lucius, 31, is an ad salesman at a local Cape Town newspaper. Disaffected, hard-drinking and plagued by nightmares, Nathan cares not at all about the world around him. He lives alone with only one true friend, a woman named Madge. But Madge is dying slowly of cancer, and when she asks Nathan to end her pain, she sets off a shocking string of events that will bring Nathan's world crashing down around him. A modern-day answer to Crime and Punishment, My Name Is Nathan Lucius is a shocking, taut, and unforgiving exploration of the intersection of violence, trauma, social responsibility, and memory. South African author Mark Winkler's North American debut is stylish, intense, and unforgettable, a glittering noir gem that will appeal to readers of Irvine Welsh and Chuck Palahniuk as well as fans of Thomas Harris and Dennis Lehane"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Shattered Mirror

Shattered Mirror
Johansen, Iris


Format: Book
Holds: 2 on 12 copies

View this item

 
The Third Victim

The Third Victim
Margolin, Phillip


Format: Book
Holds: 2 on 12 copies

View this item

 
The Gone World

The Gone World
Sweterlitsch, Tom


Format: Book
Holds: 2 on 12 copies

View this item

 
Death Comes in Through the Kitchen

Death Comes in Through the Kitchen
Dovalpage, Teresa, 1966-

"Set in Havana during the Black Spring of 2003, a charming but poison-laced culinary mystery that reveals the darker side of the modern Revolution, complete with authentic Cuban recipes. Havana, Cuba, 2003: Matt, a San Diego journalist, arrives in Havana to marry his girlfriend, Yarmila, a 24-year-old Cuban woman whom he first connected with because of her food blog. But Yarmi isn't there to meet him at the airport. When he hitches a ride to her apartment, he finds her lying dead in the bathtub. Love-lorn Matt is immediately embroiled in a Cuban adventure he hadn't bargained for: the police and secret service have him down as their main suspect, and in an effort to clear his name, Matt must embark on his own investigation into what happened to Yarmila. The more Matt learns about his erstwhile fiancee, though, the more he realizes he had no idea who she was at all--but did anyone?"--Provided by publisher.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 8 copies

View this item

 
Dark in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel

Dark in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel
Robb, J. D., 1950-

"It was a stab in the dark. On a chilly February night, during a screening of Psycho in midtown, someone sunk an ice pick into the back of Chanel Rylan's neck, then disappeared quietly into the crowds of drunks and tourists in Times Square. To Chanel's best friend, who had just slipped out of the theater for a moment to take a call, it felt as unreal as the ancient black-and-white movie up on the screen. But Chanel's blood ran red, and her death was anything but fictional. Then, as Eve Dallas puzzles over a homicide that seems carefully planned and yet oddly personal, she receives a tip from an unexpected source: an author of police thrillers who recognizes the crime--from the pages of her own book. Dallas doesn't think it's coincidence, since a recent strangulation of a sex worker resembles a scene from her writing as well. Cops look for patterns of behavior: similar weapons, similar MOs. But this killer seems to find inspiration in someone else's imagination, and if the theory holds, this may be only the second of a long-running series. The good news is that Eve and her billionaire husband Roarke have an excuse to curl up in front of the fireplace with their cat, Galahad, reading mystery stories for research. The bad news is that time is running out before the next victim plays an unwitting role in a murderer's deranged private drama -- and only Eve can put a stop to a creative impulse gone horribly, destructively wrong."--From Amazon.com.


Format: Book
Holds: 8 on 31 copies

View this item

 
To the Nines

To the Nines
Evanovich, Janet

Pursuing a skip, Stephanie travels to Las Vegas, where she meets up with Sally Sweet, Joe Morelli, and Ranger, and works to outmaneuver a trio of mobsters who are determined to prevent Stephanie's return home.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 8 copies

View this item

 
The Judge's House

The Judge's House
Simenon, Georges, 1903-1989


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 6 copies

View this item

 
Cécile Is Dead

Cécile Is Dead
Simenon, Georges, 1903-1989

Poor Cecile! And yet she was still young. Maigret had seen her papers: barely twenty-eight years old. But it would be difficult to look more like an old maid, to move less gracefully, in spite of the care she took to be friendly and pleasant. Those black dresses that she must make for herself from bad paper patterns, that ridiculous green hat.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 6 copies

View this item

 



[ 1 - 10 ] [ 11 - 20 ] [ 21 - 30 ] [ 31 - 40 ] [ 41 - 50 ] [ 51 - 60 ] [ 61 - 70 ] [ 71 - 80 ] [ 81 - 90 ] [ 91 - 100 ]

RSS feed for this list