The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

December 16, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : If You Like Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

If you liked 'Fates and Furies' by Lauren Groff

 

< Back to Index

 

Lauren Groff was a finalist for the National Book Aard for her 2015 novel "Fates and Furies," a portrait of a marriage  seen from two sides. Here are five books to read next:

 

RSS feed for this list
Fates and Furies

Fates and Furies
Groff, Lauren

"At age twenty-two, Lotto and Mathilde are tall, glamorous, madly in love, and destined for greatness. A decade later, their marriage is still the envy of their friends, but with an electric thrill we understand that things are even more complicated and remarkable than they have seemed."--


Format: Book
Holds: 23 on 28 copies

View this item

 
Summerlong

Summerlong
Bakopoulos, Dean

"The tensions beneath the surface of Claire and Don Lowry's seemingly contented marriage explode in the bedrooms and backyards of a small town over the course of a long, hot summer, as they discover that married life is not what they had predicted." (NoveList)


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 12 copies

View this item

 
The Maytrees

The Maytrees
Dillard, Annie

"An anthropologist's eye and a poet's precision distinguish this superbly written novel, exploring the ritual complexities of life, love and death. In only her second novel (after The Living, 1992), the Pulitzer Prize–winning essayist/memoirist (Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, 1974, etc.) provides a portrait of a relationship as it weathers the decades and endures twists and turns both unexpected and common." (Kirkus)


Format: Book
Holds: 2 on 7 copies

View this item

 
Gone Girl: A Novel

Gone Girl: A Novel
Flynn, Gillian

"Amy disappears on her fifth wedding anniversary, and while Nick has not been a model husband, could he really have killed her? It's soon evident that if Amy is dead, that's the least of the reader's worries." (Library Journal)


Format: Book
Holds: 5 on 15 copies

View this item

 
Old Filth

Old Filth
Gardam, Jane

"Sir Edward Feathers--called Filth (even by his wife, Betty) for Failed in London Try Hong Kong--is now retired and living in Dorset after a distinguished career as a barrister in the Far East. Betty's sudden death sends him on both a real and an imagined journey to rediscover his past as a Raj orphan born in Malaya but shipped back home early and brought to manhood at the hands of a variety of surrogate parents and guides, some good, some bad." (BookList) The sequel, THE MAN IN THE WOODEN HAT, looks at the story and marriage from the wife's perspective.


Format: Book
Holds: 2 on 15 copies

View this item

 
Happenstance: Two Novels in One About A Marriage in Transition

Happenstance: Two Novels in One About A Marriage in Transition
Shields, Carol

Two novels by Carol Shields , last heard from in a tale of two rather lost souls who eventually find each other in "The Republic of Love" (1992). Written some years ago as two separate novels, "Happenstance " concerns the 20-year marriage of Brenda and Jack Bowman, revealed from the perspective of each partner." (BookList)"


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 2 copies

View this item

 



RSS feed for this list