The Seattle Public Library

Your Account | Print-Friendly

November 17, 2017

Library Collection

Books, Movies & Music : If You Like Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

Header Image

Library Locator


Map of Library Locations

Alert

Library Closed Thursday, Nov. 23

All locations of The Seattle Public Library and the book drops at the Central Library will be closed on Thanksgiving, Thursday, Nov. 23.

If you liked 'Fates and Furies' by Lauren Groff

 

< Back to Index

 

Lauren Groff was a finalist for the National Book Aard for her 2015 novel "Fates and Furies," a portrait of a marriage  seen from two sides. Here are five books to read next:

 

RSS feed for this list
Fates and Furies

Fates and Furies
Groff, Lauren

"At age twenty-two, Lotto and Mathilde are tall, glamorous, madly in love, and destined for greatness. A decade later, their marriage is still the envy of their friends, but with an electric thrill we understand that things are even more complicated and remarkable than they have seemed."--


Format: Book
Holds: 27 on 29 copies

View this item

 
Summerlong

Summerlong
Bakopoulos, Dean

"The tensions beneath the surface of Claire and Don Lowry's seemingly contented marriage explode in the bedrooms and backyards of a small town over the course of a long, hot summer, as they discover that married life is not what they had predicted." (NoveList)


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 13 copies

View this item

 
The Maytrees

The Maytrees
Dillard, Annie

"An anthropologist's eye and a poet's precision distinguish this superbly written novel, exploring the ritual complexities of life, love and death. In only her second novel (after The Living, 1992), the Pulitzer Prize–winning essayist/memoirist (Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, 1974, etc.) provides a portrait of a relationship as it weathers the decades and endures twists and turns both unexpected and common." (Kirkus)


Format: Book
Holds: 3 on 7 copies

View this item

 
Gone Girl: A Novel

Gone Girl: A Novel
Flynn, Gillian

"Amy disappears on her fifth wedding anniversary, and while Nick has not been a model husband, could he really have killed her? It's soon evident that if Amy is dead, that's the least of the reader's worries." (Library Journal)


Format: Book
Holds: 3 on 17 copies

View this item

 
Old Filth

Old Filth
Gardam, Jane

"Sir Edward Feathers--called Filth (even by his wife, Betty) for Failed in London Try Hong Kong--is now retired and living in Dorset after a distinguished career as a barrister in the Far East. Betty's sudden death sends him on both a real and an imagined journey to rediscover his past as a Raj orphan born in Malaya but shipped back home early and brought to manhood at the hands of a variety of surrogate parents and guides, some good, some bad." (BookList) The sequel, THE MAN IN THE WOODEN HAT, looks at the story and marriage from the wife's perspective.


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 15 copies

View this item

 
Happenstance: Two Novels in One About A Marriage in Transition

Happenstance: Two Novels in One About A Marriage in Transition
Shields, Carol

Two novels by Carol Shields , last heard from in a tale of two rather lost souls who eventually find each other in "The Republic of Love" (1992). Written some years ago as two separate novels, "Happenstance " concerns the 20-year marriage of Brenda and Jack Bowman, revealed from the perspective of each partner." (BookList)"


Format: Book
Holds: 0 on 2 copies

View this item

 



RSS feed for this list